e-WV: The West Virginia Encyclopedia, is a full-featured electronic reference resource, from the West Virginia Humanities Council. The content of e-WV is based on the 2,200 articles of the West Virginia Encyclopedia, extensively revised, updated, and expanded. There are now more than 2,300 articles in e-WV. Thousands of multimedia assets—including current and historic photographs, audio, and video, as well as interactive features including an extensive mapping function and a 12,000-item timeline—have also been added. e-WV has the answers to nearly any question about the Mountain State.
- Find Out What's New! This section provides a breakdown of all major content sections and shows you the latest entries in each section. You can also choose to filter the list by the most recently updated entries.
- West Virginia Quizzes Find quizzes that allow you to see how well you know your West Virginia history! Quizzes can be based on article content or general West Virginia trivia. You'll receive a score upon finishing the last quiz question.
- Forums & DiscussionsThe Forums are where our users gather to discuss all sorts of interesting topics. Browse and participate in forum topics ranging from Business and Industry to Arts and Literature. Or better yet, start your own topic!
- Interactive Maps & Timelines
Interactive Mapping — This section provides interactive mapping of West Virginia historical, human and natural resources in order to allow users to see change through time, and the patterns of relationship between various resources and events. This includes things like county formations, rivers, and so on.
Interactive Timelines — This section provides the ability to find interesting content based on a day or time period in history. There are also some cases where data can be plotted on a map.
Map Archive — This section allows you to sift through a collection of static maps and map sequences (in the form of a slideshow).